CURTIS RAND FIRST SELECTMAN

Telephone: 860-435-5170 Fax: 860-435-5172 Email: townhall@salisburyct.us



Christian Williams Donald Mayland Selectmen

Town Hall P.O. Box 548 27 Main Street Salisbury, Connecticut 06068

BOS – Minutes – 11.1.2021

The Board of Selectmen Regular Meeting minutes of November 1, 2021.

Present: Curtis Rand, First Selectman; Christian Williams, Selectman; Donald Mayland, Selectman; Emily Egan, Secretary; members of the press and public.

- 1. The meeting was **called to order** at 5:00pm.
- 2. C. Williams made a motion to **approve the agenda**. D. Mayland seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously.
- 3. C. Williams made a motion to **approve the minutes** of the October 4th, 2021 (Regular) meeting. D. Mayland seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously.

4. First Selectman Report

C. Rand reported that the Selectmen had requested, if infrastructure funds were available, to add median islands to slow down traffic entering town on both the Lakeville and Salisbury entry on Route 44, and also asked for the speed limit to be reduced through the crosswalk sections. The CT Department of Transportation (CTDOT) rejected the requests.

5. New Business:

a. The Selectmen propose to the Board of Finance an approximate list of items to be included in the American Rescue Plan Act funding. This funding is for towns and cities to help turn the tide on the pandemic, address economic fallout, and lay the foundation for a strong and equitable recovery. The Selectmen have discussed certain areas for allocation of, funds including the non-profits, technology updates to Town Hall to host virtual meetings, building upgrades in the Town Hall, sewer infrastructure, the bridge going into the sewer plant, predevelopment of the Pope property for recreation and affordable housing, and sidewalks.

b. MIRA

The Materials Innovation and Recycling Authority (MIRA) recently hosted a zoom meeting describing in detail that they will be closing the burn plant in summer 2022. Our town, like many others who have subscribed to MIRA) has a contract with MIRA for solid waste (MSW) disposal until 2027. As a result of the burn plant closing, MSW from Connecticut will be shipped out of state for landfilling. MIRA asks we continue to subscribe to them until 2027 with an obligation to stay with them as they are working to find ways reduce the costs or other alternatives to make up for the loss of the CT plant.

The Town also put in a letter of interest, which is a pre-application, to CT Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (CTDEEP), to join with Sharon in a wider food waste diversion project. Final application is due mid-November. This is a recommendation from Transfer Station Recycling Advisory Committee (TRAC), Barbara Bettigole and Brian Bartram. Some goals, as described in the letter of interest, are working with our neighboring towns to lower the amount of food waste. Over the summer 120 families from both Salisbury

and Sharon participated in a pilot program reducing food waste from their households, and it is hoped that this program could be expanded.

c. Appointments for November 2021 (See Attached list)

D. Mayland made a motion to approve the list of appointments for November 2021. C. Williams seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously.

6. Old Business:

a. Pope Design Committee Update

The Pope Land Design Committee has met to discuss the next steps. They will be making a recommendation to the Board of Selectmen for a RFP (Request for Proposals) from planning firms to specifically towards, affordable housing, recreation and open space.

7. Selectmen's Reports

C. Williams reminded the community of the Veterans Day Ceremony that will in front of Town Hall on November 11th at 11am hosted by Post #70. At the ceremony, they will be dedicating the newly erected section of the memorial.

D. Mayland mentioned that Chris Ohmen started working today as the Assistant Superintendent at the WPCA plant in Lakeville.

Bg

The Selectmen mentioned the upcoming meeting on November 5th at 1pm, regarding saving vital services at Sharon Hospital. They ask for the community's support to save the maternity ward. There will be a rally on Saturday, Nov. 6 at 3pm on the Sharon Town Green. More information is available at www.savesharonhospital.org.

- 8. **Citizen Comments** J. Graaff asked the Selectmen if there was an option to make composting mandatory and it was thought to be unlikely unless alternative methods for recycling are provided.
- 9. **Adjourn**: 5:27pm

Appointments for November 2021

Animal Control Officer

Lee Sohl Jim Sohl, Asst.

Inland Wetlands & Watercourses Commission

(4-year term)
John Landon
Cary Ullman
Russ Conklin, Alternate.
John Harney, Alternate

Director of Health

(1-year term)

Torrington Area Health District

Emergency Management Director

(5-year term) Jacqueline Rice

Economic Development Committee (1-year term)

Ward Belcher, Chairman Robert Schaufelberger David Maffucci Richard Block Tom Shachtman Bruce McEver Kitty Kiefer Janet Graaff

Grove Advisory Committee

(1-year term)
Maggie Crain
Anne Day
George DelPrete
Ethan Watt
Dennis Card
John Sullivan

Megan Foley
Anthy Hellmers
Elyse Harney Morris
Kristen Neary-Marks
Jacqueline Rice
Rhonda Rinninsland
Charles Brown
Pathways Committee
(3-year term)
Pat Hackett

Recreation Commission

(6-year term) Tim Sinclair

Gerry Stanton

Salisbury Affordable Housing Comm.

(3-year term) James van B. Dresser Tiffany Riva

Salisbury Sharon Resource Recovery Authority

(3-year term)

Charles Kelley

Ed Reagan, Alt. (1-year term)

Salisbury Fire Commission

(1-year term)

John Mongeau

Cynthia Hoage

Donald Reid, Jr.

Rick Roger

James Wood

Lawrence Hoage

Scenic Roads Committee

(1-year term)

Kay Key

Jane Kellner

George Massey

Stephanie Pellegrino

Judy Swanson

Margaret Vail

Christian Williams

Sub Registrars (Vital Statistics) (2-year term)

Brian Kenny

Robert Palmer

Water Gate Keepers

(1-year term)

Fred Schmidt

Rodney Webb

Water Pollution Control Authority (WPCA)

(5-year term)

Donald Mayland

Pope Design Committee

Vivian Garfein

Lisa McAuliffe

Ray McGuire

Tim Sinclair

Elizabeth Slotnick