CURTIS RAND FIRST SELECTMAN

Telephone: 860-435-5170 Fax: 860-435-5172 Email: townhall@salisburyct.us



Christian Williams Katherine Kiefer Selectmen

Town Hall P.O. Box 548 27 Main Street Salisbury, Connecticut 06068

BOS – Minutes – 12.4.2023

The Board of Selectmen Regular Meeting minutes of December 4, 2023.

Present: Curtis Rand, First Selectman; Christian Williams, Selectman; Katherine Kiefer, Selectman; members of the press and public.

The meeting was called to order at 5:00pm.

K. Kiefer made a motion to approve the agenda with the addition of "A Resolution for Donald Mayland". C. Williams seconded, and the agenda was approved as amended.

C. Williams made a motion to approve the regular meeting minutes of November 6, 2023. C. Rand seconded, and the motion was approved. K. Kiefer abstained.

C. Rand read the following resolution for Donald Mayland: "The Salisbury Board of Selectmen express our deep gratitude to Don Mayland for your exemplary service to our town and region over the last 40 plus years. Your efforts include 6 years on the Board of Selectmen, 24 years on the Board of Finance, President of Salisbury Volunteer Ambulance Service and the Lakeville Lake Association, 10 years as Chairman of the WPCA, and countless hours working to promote quality education, environmental protection and regional health initiatives. As a teacher, you helped hundreds of students understand math, and your knowledge of water has contributed to the quality of our lakes. We salute your selfless work for our town with great appreciation and look forward to many more years of your guidance and dedication. Thank you. Salisbury Board of Selectmen, December 4, 2023." K. Kiefer made a motion to approve the resolution. C. Rand seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously.

The Selectmen reviewed the proposed December appointment list for 2024. (See Attached List) After review the following motions were made:

- Board of Assessment Appeals (C. Williams made the motion, K. Kiefer seconded Approved unanimously.)
- Conservation Commission (K. Kiefer made the motion, C. Williams seconded Approved unanimously.)
- Economic Development Committee- (C. Williams made the motion, K. Kiefer seconded Approved unanimously.)
- Inland Wetlands & Watercourses Commission (C. Williams made the motion, C. Rand seconded, K. Kiefer Abstained.)
- Northwest Hills Council of Governments (C. Williams made the motion, K. Kiefer seconded Approved unanimously.)
- Recreation Commission (K. Kiefer made the motion, C. Williams seconded Approved unanimously.)
- Salisbury Sharon Resource Recovery Authority (SSRRA) (C. Williams made the motion, K. Kiefer seconded – Approved unanimously.)
- Scenic Roads Committee (K. Kiefer made the motion, C. Rands seconded, C. Williams Abstained.)

Meeting procedures and recordings were discussed and the Selectmen unanimously agreed going forward meetings should be hybrid or remote, not in-person only or without recordings. Attendance of members was also discussed and the Selectmen agreed that the Chairman of a board has to make sure their members attendance is regular.

The Selectmen discussed the following items, and there were no votes or approvals.

 Invasive species (CT River Hydrilla) and boat launching – Discussion of communication with Twin Lakes Association, the State Department of Fisheries (statewide issue), and how members of all the lakes must work together to figure out plans for 2024.

- Affordable Housing Expansion of affordable housing in Town, proposed projects, funding, effects on sewer system and guidance from Planning & Zoning.
- Bridges Salmon Kill bridge opening the week of 12/11/2023. Cardinal Engineering is assessing all small bridges in town, including creating maintenance and a plan for upgrades.
- Road safety, speeding, sidewalks and crosswalks Discussion of lowering the speed in the town centers and proposed additional sidewalks and crosswalks
- Homestead Assessments Discussion of how this proposal needs to go to our legislature.

The Selectmen motioned, seconded and approved the following tax refunds as recommended by the Tax Collector: December 2023 – totaling \$194.23. (VCFS Auto Leasing Co, \$163.86; Wells, Conrad, \$30.37).

The Selectmen motioned, seconded and approved the Board of Selectmen Regular Meeting Dates for 2024. Meeting will continue to be on the first Monday of the month at 5:00pm, unless there is a holiday (ex. January and September 2024). The next Board of Selectmen meeting will take place on January 8, 2023 remotely, as a Region One Referendum will be taking place at Salisbury Town Hall from 6am-8pm.

K. Kiefer asked the Selectmen how the public can stay updated with the Plan of Conservation and Development POCD) and Pope Land Design Committee. The other Selectmen mentioned the calendar/schedule for the public meetings, contacts of the Commissions and/or Committees working on both projects.

C. Williams thanked William Veras, Resident Trooper for hosting the 3rd Annual Toy Drive on Saturday, December 2 at Salisbury Town Hall.

C. Rand complimented both Dayton Construction for the Connectivity Project from Lincoln City Road to Brook Street and Hemlock Construction Company for the Salmon Kill Bridge project, both completed at this time.

There were no public comments at this time.

Adjourn: 5:48pm

DECEMBER 2023 APPOINTMENTS

Board of Assessment Appeals (To Fill Vacancy for two years) John Harney, Jr.

Conservation Commission (4-year term) Maria Grace Steve Fitch, Alternate Sarah Webb, Alternate

Economic Development Committee Ward Belcher (1 year term) Tom Shachtman (1 year term) Kitty Kiefer (2 year term) Robert Schaufelberger (1 year term) Carol Sadlon (2 year term)

Inland Wetlands & Watercourses Commission (4-year term) Steve Belter Maria Grace Sally Spillane Vivian Garfein Russ Conklin, Alternate John Harney Jr., Alternate Tracy Brown, Alternate

Northwest Hills Council of Governments (1-year term) Curtis Rand Christian Williams Katherine Kiefer Recreation Commission (6-year term) Lou Bucceri Dan Smith

Salisbury Sharon Resource Recovery Authority (SSRRA) (3-year term) Curtis G. Rand

Scenic Roads Committee (1-year term) Kay Key Margaret Vail Christian Williams